Skip to navigation menu

Skip to main content

Summer Principals Academy NYC
Teachers College, Columbia University
teachers college logo columbia univertsity logo

in New York City

Faculty > Welcome

Carey Dahncke

Carey Dahncke became the Principal and Executive Director of Christel House Academy, in Indianapolis; a K-12 public charter school serving intercity, impoverished urban students, in May 2006. Carey initiated the growth of the Middle School program at Christel House Academy, which was originally an elementary school. He later designed and built the high school, rooted in Expeditionary Learning principles. Carey is now working to launch a Drop Out Recovery High School, as part of an additional Christel House International project.. Originally teaching at an alternative truancy high school in Illinois, Carey moved to Indianapolis to work at an elementary school in MSD Warren Township. As a teacher, Carey took an active leadership role in introducing technology into the classroom through interdisciplinary work. He also worked as an Adjunct Instructor of Educational Technology at Indiana University’s IUPUI campus. In 1996, Carey took part in the United States Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program where he spent the academic year teaching on a council estate in Loughbrough, England. Upon returning to the US, Carey began working with intercity children in the Indianapolis Public Schools as a middle school vice principal. In 2000, he became the Principal of Christian Park School IPS 82 in Indianapolis, where he led the school to significant academic improvements and acclaim until leaving to join Christel House. Carey graduated cum laude from the American College in London, where he studied business, and later earned his Master of Science in Education Degree, at Eastern Illinois University. In 1999, Carey was a summer resident in the Stanford Educational Leadership Institute at Stanford University in California. Carey is an active member of the Indianapolis Rotary Club and has been recognized as the District 7 Principal of the Year by the Indiana Association of School Principals; and twice recognized as a Distinguished Principal by the Indiana Department of Education.