Susan fuhrman2006

To honor Arthur Zankel and his contributions to education, Teachers College renamed Main Hall as the Arthur Zankel Building. Zankel was a dedicated Trustee, a valued advisor, and a generous contributor of his time, wisdom, and resources to the mission of Teachers College. A bequest from the Zankel estate established the Zankel Urban Fellowships – 50 scholarships ($10,000 each) for students who will serve internships in the College’s programs for underserved New York City school children.

President Susan Fuhrman begins her tenure as tenth president of TC.She is founding Director and Chair of the Management Committee of the Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE), and President of the National Academy of Education. Before coming to TC, she served a term as Dean of the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education. She is a former Vice President of the American Educational Research Association as well as a former Trustee Board member of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and a current non-executive Director of Pearson plc, the international education and publishing company. Her research interests include accountability in education, intergovernmental relationships, and standards-based reform, and she has written widely on education policy and finance.