Skip to navigation menu

Skip to main content

About Our Office > Committee for Community & Diversity (CCD)

Site Navigation

About Our Office

Committee for Community & Diversity (CCD)

 

What is the Committee for Community & Diversity?

 

As a matter of introduction, CCD is a non-policy making group that:

  • Was developed post Diversity Task Force Report (issued September 1999) by the president;
  • Engages in diversity, community and civility issues that affect the TC community;
  • Does not handle individual "ombudsperson", or budgetary matters;
  • Provides TC's only cross-constituency committee (19 members), (unlike the College Policy Council which excluded union members, had 46 members and was involved in budgetary matters).

 

 

  1. The membership of the Committee for Community and Diversity shall be constituted as follows:

 

1.    Four Faculty representatives – two to be elected for a term of one year from the Faculty Executive Committee, one Departmental Chairs, one At-large respectively.

 

2.    Three Professional Staff representatives shall be appointed for one year from the Professional Staff Association, Management Network and At-large respectively.

          

3.    Three Union representatives shall be appointed for a term of one year.

 

4.    Five student representatives shall be appointed for a term of one year from the Student Senate.

    

5.    Three administration representatives including the President, the Vice President of Academic Affairs.

    

6.    One representative shall be appointed from the Office of Access & Services for Individuals with Disabilities (OASID).

 

7.    One representative shall be appointed from the Office of International Student Services. 

 

8.    Two at-large representatives shall be appointed by the Chair of the Committee for Community and Diversity as deemed necessary with notice to the Committee   

 

 

  1. Each of the above constituents shall develop their own mechanism to select their members for appointment to the Committee for Community and Diversity.  Reappointment shall be determined by the constituent group.

 

 

  1. The purpose of the Committee for Community and Diversity shall be generally to:

 

1.    Advise the President on and promote and engage all constituents in college-wide diversity, community-building and civility projects and concerns.

 

2. The Committee shall not act as ombudsperson for individual concerns.

 

 

  1. The Committee shall consult widely, inviting and receiving comments and suggestions from all sectors of the College on diversity, community and civility concerns and initiatives. 

 


CCD Membership 2014-2015

Committee for Community and Diversity

Alpha

As of 10.27.14

 

 

Yvonne Destin
Representative at Large – Office of Student Activities and Programming
destin@tc.columbia.edu

 

Isaac Freeman

2110 Union Representative

Irf3@tc.columbia.edu

 

Susan Fuhrman 

Administration - President of the College
fuhrman@tc.columbia.edu

 

Jay Heubert

Faculty

heubert@tc.columbia.edu

 

Tom James

Administration – Provost & Dean of College

james@tc.columbia.edu

 

Richard Keller

OASID

keller@tc.columbia.edu

 

Jolene Lane

Administration – Director for DCA, CCD Vice Chair

lane@tc.columbia.edu

 

Keith Layton

Professional Staff PSEC

layton@tc.columbia.edu 

 

Samantha Lu

Office of International Services

slu@tc.columbia.edu

 

        Marie Miville

Faculty – Department Chair

miville@tc.columbia.edu

 

Angel Pagan

707 Union Representative

Pagan@tc.columbia.edu

 

TBA

32 BJ Union Representative, Facilities/Seth Low

 

Janice Robinson

Administration – CCD Chair, Vice President for DCA

jsr167@tc.columbia.edu

 

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz

Faculty

Sealeyruiz@tc.columbia.edu

 

Nicole Siniscalchi

Professional Staff PSEC

Siniscalchi@tc.columbia.edu

 

Erica Walker

Faculty

ewalker@tc.columbia.edu

 

Melanie Williams

Management Network

mtw2110@tc.columbia.edu

 

Students

 

Allison Baldwin

Student Senator

aeb2228@tc.columbia.edu

 

Christina Chaise

Student Senator

cmc2319@tc.columbai.edu

 

Bobbie Cox

President Student Senate

rc2813@tc.columbia.edu

 

Tiffany Lindley

Student Senator

tnl2109@tc.columbia.edu

 

Daniel Souleles

Student Senator

dss2145@tc.columbia.edu