Alumni Spotlights | Teachers College Columbia University

Skip to content Skip to main navigation
Alumni Relations

Office of Alumni Relations

Skip to content Skip to content


We love stories about #TCSweethearts and friendships! In honor of Valentine’s Day, here are just a few of our favorites.

Dr. R. Steven Schiavo (Ph.D. '70) and Evelyn Fleischman ('69) were married in 1969 in Grace Dodge Hall. Their best man was Roland Moses (Ed.D. '69). Their son Neil Schiavo received his M.A. in Organizational Psychology in 2003.

Miles (M.A. '08) and Elizabeth White (M.A. '08) met in Whittier Hall’s 10th floor TV lounge during the 2006 World Series. Miles took Elizabeth out to celebrate when her St. Louis Cardinals bested the Detroit Tigers.

Pierre & Jessica Lu met at Teachers College where he was earning 1 of 4 degrees and she an M.A. in TESOL. They currently live in Brownsville, Texas.

In spite of a “near disastrous first date,” something clicked between Michael (M.Ed. ‘71) and Phyllis Putman who met while working in the Registrar Office in 1965. Their son Jeffrey Putman (Ed.D. '11) is the Alumni Council Immediate Past President. Michael is also a Council member.

Katherine (Ed.D. '94) and David Zatz (Ph.D. '95) met while stuck in the elevator of Whittier Hall. When their kids ask how long they were stuck, Katherine answers “long enough."

Dr. Harry Robert Wilson, Chairman of the Music and Music Education department, introduced Rose Marie Cooper (M.A. '60) and William Jordan (M.A. '59) at a national music convention in Atlantic City in 1955.

Jacqui (M.A. ’85) and David Getz (M.A. ’84) met at TC in 1984 when he invited her to the play he was producing in the Bowery. She accepted the invitation, despite his “bad hair.”

During 72 years of marriage, the late Professor Emeritus Joel R. Davitz (Ph.D. ’52) and Lois Leiderman Davitz, who worked as a research associate at TC, collaborated on 17 books about couple and family relationships.

Professor Fred Mayer suggested Martha (M.A. ’68) and Rodney Tibbetts (M.A. ’63) do a duet together for a recital in the fall of 1966. Mayer then sang at their wedding in 1968 at a Catholic Church around the corner from the College.

Barbara (M.Ed. ’93) and Jean-Marc Juhel (M.A. ’97) “locked eyes all the way across Grace Dodge” in 1992 after Professor Nancy Kroonenberg suggested they collaborate on a presentation. They were married 6 months later.

Carolyn Choi (M.Ed. ‘99) and Jonathan Warmflash (M.A. ‘94) know the value of teamwork. They met while collaborating on a group project in Dr. Marjorie Siegel's reading class in 1993. They married in 1995.

Professors Aaron Pallas and Anna Neumann had their first date in a crowded movie theater where they couldn’t find two seats together. Their second date-10 months later-at a Georgia O'Keefe exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art went much better. They married in May of 1990, and held their wedding reception at the Columbia Faculty House.

Heejung An (Ed.D. ’04) and Tom Chandler (Ph.D. ’09) often had long conversations and Korean snacks at "The Mill" on Broadway. They married on June 8, 2002. Their son, Jay, was born on Valentine’s Day in 2006!

Juliana Bueti (M.Ed. '15) and her friends are a perfect example of #TCSweethearts.

Gayle Allen (Ed.D. '08)

Gayle Allen (Ed.D. '08) is the new Vice President of People Operations at Flexport, a leading technology-enabled freight forwarder and customs broker. Read more>>

2018 Distinguished Alumni & Early Career Awardees

We are also excited to announce our 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Early Career Awardees who will be honored during Academic Festival X on Saturday, April 7. This year’s honorees have worked to promote education, health and social justice issues on a local, national and international scale.

The Distinguished Alumni Awardees are:

    Louise Margaret Ada (M.A. '84), a world-renowned physiotherapist
    Sybil Jordan Hampton (Ed.D. '91), an accomplished higher education administrator and civil rights activist
    Henrietta Kralovec (Ed.D. '87), a leader in diversity who has helped establish inclusive excellence at the University of Arizona
    Gabriela Simon-Cereijido (M.S. '01), a pioneer in the field of bilingual speech pathology.

The Early Career Awardees are:

    Bradford Manning (M.A. '10), co-founder of Two Blind Brothers, a fashion company dedicated to funding research to cure blindness
    Thabo Msibi (M.Ed. '08), a leader on youth, sexuality, and gender issues and the youngest college Dean in South Africa.

Visit our awards page to learn more about each of these accomplished alumni, and help us congratulate them in person on April 7!

Alison Gillespie (Ed.D. ’17)

Alison Gillespie (Ed.D. ’17), a graduate of the Urban Education Leaders Program, is the Associate Principal at Wayzata High School in Plymouth, Minnesota. Read more>>


Looking for your next great read? Check out these books by TC alumni authors:

American universities in China: Lessons from Japan by Dennis Yang (M.Ed. ’10)

The Blind by Alex Fribourg Brady (M.Ed. ’09)

Songs for Singing and Sharing, Vol. 1: A collection of eclectic folk music for Early Childhood families by Marissa Curry (M.A. ’11), Ingrid Ladendorf (M.A. ’08), Caroline Moore (M.A. '11) and Lawrence Weiss.

Are you an alumnus/a with published works? Send information about your projects (writing, art, music, apps, etc.) to, subject: Alumni Creations or submit your work online.


Alice Goldsberry (M.A. ‘15)

Alice Goldsberry (M.A. ‘15), School Director for KIPP Blytheville College Preparatory School, led her team and students to region-high reading growth during the 2016-17 school year.


The Offical Magazine of Teachers College

Read up on Alumni News, Class Notes and all things Teachers College in the most recent issue of TC Today
As an alumnus/a, be sure to answer the "Inbox" question in each edition.

Read TC Today

Kecia Hayes (M.Ed. ’96)

Kecia Hayes (M.Ed. ’96) was appointed as the new Executive Director of the Roger Lehecka Double Discovery Center (DDC) at Columbia College. Read more >>


Ani Kalayjian (Ed.D. ’86)

In December, the Association for Trauma Outreach and Prevention, Meaningfulworld, founded by Ani Kalayjian (Ed.D. ’86), deployed a relief team of mental health professionals and disaster response counselors to Puerto Rico to assist residents suffering from mental health crises in the wake of Hurricane’s Irma and Maria. Read more >>


Recent Newsletters

Click Here for archive.