Skip to navigation menu

Skip to main content

Teachers College Awards > Announcement! Elaine Brantley Memorial Award for Community and Civility - Winners 2013-2014

Site Navigation

Teachers College Awards

Announcement! Elaine Brantley Memorial Award for Community and Civility - Winners 2013-2014

The Committee for Community & Diversity

is pleased to announce the RECIPIENTS of the Tenth Annual


Elaine Brantley Memorial Award

for Community & Civility


Yeremy Chavez

Elizet Gonzalez

Gerolyn Martinez (Awarded Posthumously)


The Elaine Brantley Memorial Award for Community & Civility seeks to recognize Teachers College employees who, by virtue of their daily efforts go beyond the expectations of their position, promote a sense of community and a culture of civility at the College.  The award hopes to raise the awareness of individual contributions to community and civility at TC, show appreciation for those individuals who contribute to the realization of these goals, and recognize those who excel in making Teachers College a better place to work and learn.  All Teachers College employees, including faculty, professional staff, union staff, part-time staff, and administration, are eligible to receive this award.


Elaine Brantley (April 29th, 1949 – June 9th, 2003)

Elaine Webster Brantley was born and raised in Harlem, where she was educated at Washington Irving High School and worshiped at the Kelly Temple Church of God in Christ.  Elaine was married to Ulysses Brantley and had one daughter, Eboné Chemise Brantley.  Elaine was a cashier in the cafeteria at Teachers College for 24 years, but she was much more than a dedicated employee.  Elaine was a favorite among students, faculty, and staff alike.  She was good therapy, a reason to come to work in the morning, and a good friend.  At her memorial program, a quote by Mother Teresa reflected the beauty of Elaine's gift: “Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are endless.”  In this spirit, the Committee for Community and Diversity wishes to honor the memory of Elaine Brantley by recognizing others who continue her legacy of inspiring warmth, kinship, and collaboration within the Teachers College community.

Elaine Brantley Award Winners 2013-2014


Yeremy Chavez is Associate Director of Security in the Department of Public Safety.  He joined the TC community in July 2002. 


Elizet Gonzalez is the Department Secretary and Receptionist for the Office of Development and External Affairs, and she is a member of the 2110 Union.  She came to Teachers College in March 2007.

Gerolyn Martinez (November 6, 1979 – June 12, 2013) was Admissions Assistant in the Office of Admission, and she joined the TC community in March 2006.


The Elaine Brantley Award Selection Committee reviewed nominations of a number of highly commendable candidates.  These three recipients were selected after a thorough and rigorous selection process including reviewing written descriptions of the nominees’ candidacy and interviewing community members both inside and outside of their respective departments.

The Elaine Brantley Memorial Award for Community & Civility will be presented during the State of the College Address to be held on October 23, 2013, at 3:30pm in the Cowin Center Auditorium.  We hope that all members of the TC community will come to the event to recognize Yeremy, Liz and Gerolyn, to honor the memory of Elaine Brantley, and to acknowledge striving for community and civility at Teachers College.

Please join us in congratulating Yeremy Chavez, Elizet Gonzalez, as well as the family and friends of Gerolyn Martinez for receiving this significant honor!