TC Media Center from the Office of External Affairs

Section Navigation

In Brief

Jeanne Brooks-Gunn (Human Development), Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Child and Parent Development and Education, was honored along with four other scholars at the American Psychological Society's annual convention. She received the William James Fellow Award, which honors members of the society for a lifetime of contribution to the basic science of psychology, for her work combining behavioral and biological approaches to the study of human development.

Warner Burke (Organization and Leadership), Edward Lee Thorndike Professor of Psychology and Education, was the first recipient of the Academy of Management Distinguished Practitioner Scholar Award. In addition, Burke is the Master of Ceremonies and Keynote Speaker for the Annual Best of Organizational Development Summit.

Peter Coleman (Organization and Leadership), Assistant Professor of Psychology and Education, was named recipient of the Early Career Award Committee of Division 48 of the American Psychological Association and will be presented with the award at the Annual APA Conference in 2004. The Committee members were impressed with Coleman's commitment to peace psychology and with the quality of his contributions to theory and practice related to peace, conflict management, social justice, and the prevention and mitigation of violence.

Frank Moretti (Mathematics, Science and Technology), Professor of Communication and Education, was featured in CXO Monthly: Strategy, Operations & Results for Higher Education, published by Eduventures, Inc., in June 2003. In the article, the writer said that Columbia's Center for New Media Teaching and Learning is dedicated to using technology and digital content to "transform the learning experience and enrich the knowledge creation process."

Lee Pogonowski (Arts & Humanities), Associate Professor of Music Education, was honored by Western Connecticut State University in April as an Educator of the Decade along with five others. Honorees were chosen as "educators that exemplify excellence in service and commitment to education," according to Dr. Theresa Canada, who coordinated the event.

In January 2004, Alan Echtenkamp begins a postdoctoral research fellowship in leadership and organizational psychology at The Kravis Leadership Institute at Claremont McKenna College. Jennifer Goldman received Honorable Mention from the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships for her research plan. Riva Kantowitz received National Security Education Program (NSEP) David L. Boren Fellowship, which is administered by the Academy for Educational Development. Jeffrey Sun, a doctoral student in Higher and Postsecondary Education, and Po Yang, a doctoral student in Economics of Education, were named Data Policy Institute Fellows by the Association of Institutional Research.

previous page