TC Media Center from the Office of External Affairs

Section Navigation

Three Academics to be Awarded the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education

Three educators will be honored with the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education at a ceremony tonight in New York City.

The annual prize honors individuals for contributions that have helped improve education in the United States. This year's winners are being recognized for work in Early-Childhood Education and professional development for teachers.

Sharon Lynn Kagan, an associate dean for policy and a professor of childhood and family policy at Columbia University's Teachers College, is being recognized for her role in shaping policies on Early-Childhood Education. In addition to her teaching, Ms. Kagan has served as a consultant to presidential administrations, members of Congress, the National Governors Association, the U.S. Department of Education, and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 and is sponsored by the McGraw-Hill Companies, a global provider of information services. Honorees are chosen by a panel of judges from the world of education. Past winners of the McGraw Prize include governors, secretaries of education, and a former first lady, Barbara Bush.

This article, written by Jason M. Breslow, appeared in the September 27, 2005 publication of the Chronicle of Higher Education. previous page