TC Media Center from the Office of External Affairs

Section Navigation

Faculty Notes

Suniya Luthar (Counseling and Clinical Psychology) has been elected to serve on the Governing Council of the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD), the premier professional organization for child development researchers. A total of nine scientists are elected from an international membership body of over 6,000, to help guide the policies, priorities and procedures of the SRCD. In addition, Luthar has been recognized as a Fellow of the American Association for Psychological Science, for distinguished contributions to psychological science.

Francisco Rivera-Batiz (International and Transcultural Studies) received the Presidential Award of Friendship on July 7 from  Mongolian President Nambaryn Enkhbayar. The award, one of the highest honors conferred by the country to a foreign citizen, was granted for Rivera-Batiz's contributions to Mongolian education.Rivera-Batiz has been involved in the support of Mongolian education for many years through his participation in the Program in Economic Policy Management (PEPM) at the School of International and Public Affairs, and he has been a resource faculty member for the Higher Education Support Program (HESP) in Mongolia, sponsored by the Soros Foundation's Open Society Institute.

previous page