TC Media Center from the Office of External Affairs

Section Navigation

Seven TC Faculty Members Are Named AERA Fellows

Seven Teachers College faculty members have been named 2010 Fellows of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). The purpose of the AERA Fellows Program is to honor education researchers with substantial research accomplishments, to convey the Association’s commitment to excellence in research, and to enable the next generation of emerging scholars to appreciate the value of sustained achievements in research and the breadth of scholarship worthy of recognition. The Program is intended to recognize excellence in research and be inclusive of the scholarship that constitutes and enriches education research as an interdisciplinary field. Fellows are nominated by their peers, selected and recommended by the Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the Association’s elected governing group.
The seven new AERA Fellows from Teachers College are:
  • Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Child Development and Education, Teachers College and College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University; Co-director, National Center for Children and Families; Co-director, Columbia University Institute for Child and Family Policy;
  • Celia Genishi, Professor of Education and Chair, Department of Curriculum & Teaching
  • Herbert Ginsburg, Jacob H Schiff Foundations Professor of Psychology & Education
  • Sharon Lynn Kagan, Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Early Childhood and Family Policy; Co-director, National Center for Children and Families;
  • Janet Miller, Professor of English Education
  • Gary Natriello, Ruth L. Gottesman Professor of Educational Research; Professor of Sociology and Education; Executive Editor of the Teachers College Record; Director of the Gottesman Libraries at Teachers College
  • Stephen Silverman, Professor of Education and Program Coordinator in Physical Education

previous page