Late Payment Penalties
Payment of assessed charges are due upon assessment (registration of course(s)) or official payment due date as posted on Student Accounts web site. A physical bill is not required to submit payment. You can review your balance due on the TC-Web or through Touch-tone Services. You can also call the office directly for information at (212) 678-3056.
Failure to remit payment will result in late payment charges. An initial late payment fee of $50 will be assessed on any outstanding balance during the first billing period for each semester, and a 1 1/3 percent monthly late payment fee (16 percent annually) will be assessed on any outstanding balance past due thereafter. In addition, failure to make timely payment of housing charges and fees violates the housing contract and may result in eviction. Furthermore, unpaid accounts may be referred to a collection agency.
The College reserves the right to withhold grades, transcripts, diplomas, and other services, including registration, from students who have not fully met their financial obligation. In the event that Teachers College refers any unpaid balance for collection and/or legal action, the student shall be responsible for the payment of the principal balance due plus all costs, including but not limited to, collection agency fees of 33 1/3% of the principal balance due, legal fees of up to 50% of the principal balance due, interest on the outstanding balance at the maximum legal rate, and any and all court costs, filing fees, interest and judgment execution costs, associated with the collection of delinquent accounts. All collection cases shall be governed by applicable federal and New York laws and the courts of New York shall have jurisdiction in these matters.