2011 TC & NYC
Teachers College, Columbia University
Teachers College Columbia University

About Teachers College

Section Navigation

Teachers College President


Dr. Susan H. Fuhrman is the President of Teachers College, Columbia University, founding Director and Chair of the Management Committee of the Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE), and President-elect of the National Academy of Education. In January 2009, she was named co-chair of a new Roundtable on Education Systems and Accountability (RESA), established at the request of the U.S. Department of Education by the National Research Council’s Board on Testing and Assessment.

Dr. Fuhrman previously served as Dean of the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education, as well as the school’s George and Diane Weiss Professor of Education. She received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in history from Northwestern University in Chicago, Illinois, and a Ph.D. in political science and education from Columbia University, New York.  She has written widely on education policy and finance; among her edited books are The State of Education Policy Research (with David K. Cohen and Fritz Mosher, 2007); The Public Schools (The Institutions of American Democracy Series, with Marvin Lazerson, 2005); Redesigning Accountability Systems for Education (with Richard Elmore, 2004); From the Capitol to the Classroom: Standards-Based Reform in the States (2001); and Rewards and Reform: Creating Educational Incentives that Work (with Jennifer O’Day, 1996).  Her many professional involvements include membership on the Board of Trustees of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. In October 2008, she became President-elect of the National Academy of Education. She is also a former Vice President of the American Educational Research Association, and a former non-executive Director of Pearson plc, the international education and publishing company.  Her research interests include accountability in education, intergovernmental relationships, and standards-based reform.

In 2007, Crain’s New York Business named Dr. Fuhrman one of the 100 most influential women in business in New York City.

In March 2008, Dr. Fuhrman was one of five women honored by New York City Comptroller William Thompson at an event co-sponsored by the Women’s City Club of New York and the League of Women Voters as part of Women’s History Month. Dr. Fuhrman was recognized for her expertise in her field; the respect accorded her by her peers and colleagues; her commitment to serving others; and her demonstrated commitment to making New York City a more vibrant, inclusive and healthy place to live.

Dr. Fuhrman has also received the 2008 Distinguished Leaders in Education Award from the Rutgers Graduate School of Education.

In fall 2008, Dr. Fuhrman became NAE President-elect, and will begin her four-year term as President of the organization in fall 2009. She was first elected an NAE member in 2002, and became Secretary-Treasurer in 2005. Founded in 1965, NAEd advances the highest quality education research and its use in policy formation and practice.