Faculty Members on Appointed Committees

Skip to content Skip to main navigation
Teachers College, Columbia University
Printer-friendly Version
Teachers College, Columbia University Logo
Secondary Banner

The Provost and Dean of the College

The Office of

Faculty Members on Appointed Committees

Faculty Appointed Committees AY 2017-18

Appointed Committees are typically ongoing, with some rotating annual membership.  They tend to meet regularly throughout the academic year, though some have set meetings as indicated below. 

Advisory Committees review policies, procedures, and short and long term planning for the area.

The Affirmative Action Committee meets approximately once a month to monitor the Faculty Search process, shape affirmative action policies for the College and organize the Diversity Action Plan.  Committee members are chosen yearly with an effort toward representation across departments.

Tom James -- Chair
Jennifer Lena
Lori Quinn
Patricia Martinez-Alvarez
Terrence Maltbia
Lyle Yorks

Janice Robinson
Randy Glazer
David Estrella

This Committee aids students in designing an area of specialization not currently offered at the College, but for which a coherent and integrated program of study may be developed from several disciplines.

Tom James -- Chair

Judith Burton
Gary Natriello
Sandra Schmidt
Lalitha Vasudevan

These Committees assist the Faculty with respect to its responsibility to set conditions for graduation and the award of degrees.  The Committees supervise certifications, programs of study, projects and dissertations, and examinations for the degrees offered; they also serve to highlight the relationship between TC and Columbia University with respect to jurisdiction over the various degrees awarded.

Thomas James - Chair
Hal Abeles
Alex Bowers
Daniel Friedrich
Carolyn Riehl


Thomas James - Chair
Ellie Drago-Severson
Barry Farber
Janet Miller (during Fall 2017 and Fall 2018)
Aaron Pallas

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) meets once or twice per month to review all human subject research conducted by faculty, staff, and students, regardless of the location of the research activity, source of funding, and whether the research is exempt under the Code of Federal Regulations for Protection of Human Subjects (45 CFR 46).  The IRB reviews research in accordance with the current Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) regulations.  The main purpose of the IRB is to protect the rights and welfare of human subjects who take part in research. 

Karen Froud, Chair (Fall 2017)
Lyle Yorks, Acting Chair (Spring 2018)
Cindy Huang
Gary Natriello
John Saxman
Sandy Cheiten (outside member)
Paul Kran, ex. Officio

The Faculty Development Advisory Committee is in charge of monitoring the mentoring plan for the College, and planning and implementing group mentoring activities for the Pre-Tenured faculty members. In addition, the Committee advises the Dean about faculty development activities for all faculty of the College.

Aaron Pallas - Chair
Corbin Campbell 
Kevin Dougherty 
Richard Jochum
Ioana Literat
Detra Price-Dennis
Michelle Troche

The Campus Safety Advisory Committee empanelled by the President of the College, addresses environmental, health, safety and security issues for Teachers College.  The Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the College and offers reports and recommendations to the College's administration.  The Committee is chaired by the Assistant Vice-President of Campus and Auxiliary Services.  The Committee makes recommendations for corrective or preventive actions which are forwarded to appropriate senior executives for action. The committee is divided into two subcommittees: the Public Safety Sub-Committee chaired by the Director of Public Safety and the Environmental Health and Safety Sub-Committee is chaired by the Director of EHS. Committee membership is made up of 1/3 students, 1/3 faculty and 1/3 administrative staff.

Jennifer Lena
Eric Nadelstern
Philip Saigh


The Harassment Panel serves as the primary vehicle through which the College addresses concerns related to harassment as described in the Teachers College Policy on Protection from Harassment. The Panel's primary responsibility with regard to harassment is to assist in the informal and formal resolution of concerns or complaints of harassment brought by employees and students of the College. The Panel is comprised of faculty, staff, and one or more students. The Panel meets to discuss cases, review policy and for training.

Katie Embree-- Chair
Carolyn Benson
Joe Ciccolo
Jeffrey Young

Kristine Roome
Jason Phoel
Iraida Torres


This Committee reviews proposals for two grant programs of the Dean's Office including the Dean's Grant for Tenured Faculty Research and the Dean's Competitive Grant for Pre-Tenured and Non-Tenure Track Faculty.  Typically, the committee reviews 3 - 10 proposals and meets one time (per grant) to select awardees.

Lori Custodero
Matthew Johnson
Ye Wang
Hansun Zhang Waring
James Westaby

This Committee reviews proposals for two student grant programs including the Dean's Grant for Student Research and the Walter Sindlinger Writing Award.  Typically, the committee reviews 5-15 proposals and meets one time (per grant) to select awardees.

Christine Baron
Carolyn Benson
Corbin Campbell
Christine Cha
Joseph Ciccolo
Alexander Eble
Maria Paula Ghiso
Bryan Keller
Ioana Literat
Randi Wolf