UAD members present at DRS

Skip to content Skip to main navigation
Teachers College, Columbia University
Printer-friendly Version
Teachers College, Columbia University Logo

Laboratory for the Study of Upper Airway Dysfunction

UAD members sweep awards given at the 2017 Dysphagia Research Society Meeting

The International Dysphagia Research Society Annual Meeting took place on March 2-4, 2017 in Portland, Oregon. This annual meeting is designed for a variety of clinicians and researchers with focus on the research surrounding the management of swallowing disorders in diverse populations and throughout the lifespan.

This year, the UAD lab swept the New Investigator Forum Awards. Previous doctoral candidate, Dr. Avinash Mishra, and current postdoctoral fellow Dr. Sarah Perry presented their most recent work at the New Investigator Forum, where their presentations were graded to decide the first and second place New Investigator Awards. Dr. Mishra came in first place with his dissertation work here at Teacher's College Columbia University, entitled "Airway Protective Behaviors and Clinical Swallow Function in Children with Cerebral Palsy and Healthy Controls," and Dr. Perry came in second with her dissertation work from University of Canterbury in Christchurch, NZ, entitled "The Relationship between Oral Bacteria, Cough Reflex, Sensitivity, and Aspiration Pneumonia in Patients with Acute Stroke," co-authored with Maggie-Lee Huckabee and Geoffrey Tompkins


The Dysphagia Research Society (DRS) New Investigator Awards are given to two eligible national and international candidates. Each participant submitted an abstract and was accepted for an oral presentation as part of the DRS Annual Meeting. Once the participants received notification that their presentations were accepted, they were then asked to submit a two-page, double-spaced summary including data, and a CV to the review committee. Only two papers were selected for oral presentation during the New Investigators’ Forum.

Several members of the UAD lab were also selected for poster presentations. Dr. Justine Sheppard presented her work, entitled "Validation of the choking risk assessment and pneumonia risk assessment for adults with intellectual and developmental disability (IDD)," co-authored by Avi Mishra, Michelle Troche, and Georgia A. Malandraki. Dr. Sheppard's poster came in third place during the awards ceremony. Doctoral candidate Akila Rajappa also presented her poster entitled "Reduced Pitch Elevation Correlates with Airway Invasion in Patients with Neurogenic Dysphagia," co-authored by Kristie Soriano, Courtney Ziemer, Michelle Troche, Jamie Bauer Malandraki, and Georgia A. Malandraki. Additionally, Dr. Michelle Troche was invited to present her work on Peripheral and Neural Substrates of Cough together with UAD collaborator, Dr. Karen Hegland and Dr. Kate Hutcheson of MD Anderson.

Dr. Troche and Dr. Hegland (Director of the University of Florida UAD) continued their winning streak and defended their first place performance at the DRS annual jeopardy/games tournament.