TC at AERA | Teachers College Columbia University

Skip to content Skip to main navigation


This year's TC presentations range from using video to prepare preservice teachers to the educational impact of natural disasters
This year’s annual meeting of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), themed “Understanding Complex Ecologies in a Changing World,” which will be held April 30- May 4 in Denver, will include the participation of nearly 175 TC faculty and students. Among the highlights of TC’s involvement:
•TC President Susan Fuhrman is co-chairing “Excellence in Education Research: Early Career Scholars and Their Work,” a poster session that will include TC Assistant Professor of Education Monisha Bajaj and her project, “Time Pass’ or Transformative Force?: Human Rights Education in Indian Schools.”
•The conference’s Presidential Sessions will feature presentations by several TC faculty, including: Xiaodong Lin, Associate Professor of Technology & Education, a panelist on “Developing Students’ Creativity: Challenges and Opportunities for Chinese and American Educators and Researchers;” Henry Levin, William H Kilpatrick Professor of Economics and Education, a panelist on “From Katrina to Haiti: Educational Research and Short- and Long-Term Response to Disaster;” and Michelle Knight-Diop, Associate Professor of Education, a panelist on “Meaningful Connections: Social Networks as a Policy Focus in Complex Educational Ecologies.”
•Faculty and staff associated with TC’s Center for Community College Research will make a number of presentations, including “High School Dual Enrollment Programs: Are We Fast Tracking Students Too Fast,” in which Cecilia Speroni, TC Research Assistant and Doctoral Student in Economics and Education, will participate; and “Building Bridges to Postsecondary Education for Low-Skill Adults: Findings from Recent Research on Promising Practices,” in which TC’s Senior Research Associates Davis Jenkins and Elisabeth Barnett will participate, along with Sung-Woo Cho, TC Senior Research Assistant and Doctoral Student in Economics and Education.
•In recognition for their exceptional scientific and scholarly research, the following TC professors will be inducted as 2010 Fellows of the American Education Research Association on Saturday, May 1: Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Child Development; Celia Genishi, Professor of Education; Herbert P. Ginsburg, Jacob H. Schiff Foundation’s Professor of Psychology and Education; Sharon Lynn Kagan, Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Early Childhood and Family Policy; Janet L. Miller, Professor of English Education; Gary J. Natriello, Ruth L. Gottesman Professor of Educational Research; and Stephen Silverman, Professor of Education and Program Coordinator in Physical Education.
•TC’s Herbert Ginsburg, Jacob H. Schiff Foundation’s Professor of Psychology and Education, together with student researchers, will chair “Video Analysis as a Method for Developing Preservice Teachers’ Beliefs about Teaching and their Understanding of Children, Pedagogy, and Assessment.” The panel focuses on early childhood teacher preparation in mathematics, including the development of model courses, an extensive video library, and a unique web-based video analysis system to provide preservice teachers with intellectually-stimulating learning experiences that vividly portray the processes of student thinking and the tasks of assessment and teaching.
For a more comprehensive listing of TC participation in the 2010 AERA annual conference, please visit

Published Monday, May. 10, 2010


More Stories