Social Justice Action Award

Skip to content Skip to main navigation
Teachers College, Columbia University
Printer-friendly Version
Teachers College, Columbia University Logo
Winter Roundtable 33rd

33rd Annual Winter Roundtable

Patricia  Arredondo, Ed.D.

Patricia Arredondo, Ed.D.

Dr. Patricia Arredondo has been appointed president of The Chicago School of Professional Psychology's largest campus located in the heart of Chicago. A licensed psychologist bilingual in English and Spanish, Arredondo was formerly with the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM) where she was associate vice chancellor, interim dean for the School of Continuing Education and professor of educational psychology. Prior to UWM, she served as senior vice president for University Student Initiatives and Student Affairs at Arizona State University. She is also the vice chair of the Social Development Commission, the largest anti-poverty agency in Wisconsin. Arredondo has an extensive scholarship record with a focus on multicultural counseling competency models; multicultural guidelines in psychology, immigrants and life-change processes; Latina/o issues in counseling; social justice advocacy; and organizational diversity assessment. Arredondo earned her doctorate in counseling psychology from Boston University.

Social Justice Action Award

The Social Justice Action Award was created to honor the significant contributions of an individual who exemplifies the integration of multicultural initiatives with social action.

Past award recipients include:

2016: Patricia Arredondo, Ed.D.

2015: Joseph, Jane, and James Clementi
2014: Urvashi Vaid, J.D.
2013: Derald Wing Sue, Ph.D.
2012: Anthony J. Marsella, Ph.D., D.H.C.
2011: Bertha G. Holliday, Ph.D.
2010: Concepcion Saucedo Martinez, Ph.D.
2009: William E. Cross, Jr., Ph.D.
2008: Michelle Fine, Ph.D.
2007: Ronald Takaki, Ph.D.
2006: Linda James Myers, Ph.D.
2005: Jane Elliott
2004: Bell Hooks