Bailey to Lead National Committee on Success Measures at Two... | Teachers College Columbia University

Skip to content Skip to main navigation

Bailey to Lead National Committee on Success Measures at Two-Year Colleges

Thomas Bailey, TC's George and Abby O'Neill Professor Economics and Education, will lead a new national committee that will recommend steps for two-year colleges to comply with federal graduation and completion-rate disclosure requirements.
Education Secretary Appoints Bailey Chair of the New Committee

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan has appointed Thomas Bailey, the George and Abby O’Neill Professor Economics and Education at Teachers College, to serve as chair of the new Committee on Measures of Student Success (CMSS). Created under the Higher Education Opportunity Act, the committee will develop recommendations for two-year degree-granting institutions of higher education to comply with the law's graduation and completion-rate disclosure requirements.

The committee will also develop recommendations regarding additional or alternate measures of student success that are comparable alternatives to the completion or graduation rates, taking into account the mission and role of two-year degree-granting higher education institutions. The Committee will submit its recommendations to the Secretary no later than 18 months from the date of its first meeting.

Bailey is also director of Teachers College's Community College Research Center (CCRC) as well as the National Center for Postsecondary Research (NCPR), which is housed at CCRC and operated in collaboration with partners MDRC, the Curry School of Education at the University of Virginia, and faculty at Harvard University.

"I am honored by this appointment and look forward to working with the other members of this committee to develop well-conceived recommendations for student success measures at two-year colleges," said Bailey.

Duncan also announced the appointment of 14 committee members, including experts in the field of higher education policy, state higher education officials, students and other stakeholders in the higher education community.  The members were appointed in consultation with the Commissioner of Education Statistics.

"These individuals have a diverse background in higher education, and I value their expertise and experience as we move forward on this important issue," Duncan said in a written statement.

The other 14 members of the CMSS appointees are:


* Margarita Benitez, director of Higher Education, Ed Trust, Washington, D.C.

* Wayne Burton, of Durham, N.H.; president, North Shore Community College, Danvers, Mass.

* Kevin Carey, policy director, Education Sector, Washington, D.C.

* Alisa Federico Cunningham, vice president, Institute for Higher Education Policy, Washington, D.C.

* Jacob Fraire, assistant vice president, Educational Alliances, Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, Austin, Texas

* Isabel Friedman, student, University of Pennsylvania, Phila., Pa.

* Millie Garcia, president, California State University at Dominguez, Calif.

* Sharon Kristovich, higher education consultant, Champaign, Ill.

* Harold Levy, managing director, Palm Ventures, New York, N.Y., and former chancellor of New York City Public  Schools

* Geri Palast, executive director, Campaign for Fiscal Equity, New York, N.Y.

* Patrick Perry, vice chancellor, California Community College System, Sacramento, Calif.

* Lashawn Richburg-Hayes, deputy director, MDRC, New York, N.Y.

* Linda Thor, chancellor, De Anza College, Cupertino, Calif.

* Belle Wheelan, president, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools' Commission on Colleges, Decatur, Ga.


All the members, including the chair, have been appointed for terms ending Dec. 31, 2011. Meetings of the Committee will be announced in the Federal Register and will

be open to the public. A notice will be posted in the Federal Register about the first meeting, which is expected to be scheduled in the fall.


Published Wednesday, Jun. 2, 2010