TC's Bailey and Kagan Elected to National Academy of Educati... | Teachers College Columbia University

Skip to content Skip to main navigation

TC's Bailey and Kagan Elected to National Academy of Education

Two leading policy faculty members are recognized for their "extraordinary impact" on education in the United States and abroad
Two leading policy faculty members are recognized for their "extraordinary impact" on education in the United States and abroad

Thomas Bailey, George and Abby O'Neil Professor of Economics and Education, and Sharon Lynn Kagan, Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Early Childhood and Family Policy, are among five education leaders who have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Education (NAEd) for their pioneering efforts in educational research and policy development.
The NAEd advances the highest quality education research and its use in policy formation and practice. Its current President is Teachers College President Susan Fuhrman.
Bailey is founding director of the Community College Research Center, the National Center for Postsecondary Research, and the Center for Analysis of Post-Secondary Education and Employment. Known as one of the leading analysts of issues confronting community colleges, he has chaired a 15-member national Committee on Measures of Student Success, created in the wake of the 2008 reauthorization of the Higher Education Act, that urged the federal government to make major changes in how it tracks the success and productivity of community colleges.

Kagan, co-director of the National Center for Children and Families, has been perhaps the nation's leading voice in arguing for creation of  an early childhood education and care system that uses multiple federal, state and local funding streams as efficiently as possible and is aligned with kindergarten and elementary school programs. Sponsored by UNICEF, she also has traveled the world from Brazil to Tajikistan, helping scores of the world’s poorest countries write, implement and monitor standards for early childhood development and learning. Click here to read a story about Bailey and Kagan that appeared in the 2009 TC Annual Report.

Also elected to the NAEd were Douglas L. Medin, Northwestern University; Gavriel Salomon, University of Haifa; and Diana T. Slaughter-Defoe, University of Pennsylvania
“The newly elected members are preeminent leaders in their respective areas of educational research, and they are recognized for the extraordinary impact that they have had on education in the U.S. and abroad,” Fuhrman said.

Founded in 1965, the NAEd consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.  Nominations are submitted by individual members once a year for review and election by the entire membership.

Published Monday, May. 7, 2012


More Stories