Faculty news in this round-up were submitted to TC Generation for inclusion and selected from news submitted to the Provost’s Office for Faculty News & Notes. Have news to share? Submit updates for the TC Newsroom’s quarterly faculty digest here.

Paulo Blikstein was honored with the “Article of the Year” award from the European Journal of Education for “This is Not a School: Discourses of artificial intelligence in education through the lens of semiotic analytics,” co-authored with TC doctoral students Yipu Zheng and Karen Zhuqian Zhou.

Nine faculty members were included on the Rick Hess Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings: Jonathan Collins, Chris Emdin, Jeff Henig, Henry Levin, Bettina Love, Aaron Pallas, Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Sonya Douglass and Judith Scott-Clayton. 

Nicole Brittingham Furlonge served as guest editor of a special edition of the Teachers College Record: “Minding the Gap in Education Discourse: Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging in Independent and International Schools.” 

Jonathan Collins delivered “Democracy Speaks: School Board Governance Through Deliberative Culture” as part of the Hudspeth Lecture Series at Rice University.

Peter Coleman discussed conflict resolution on the popular podcast Hidden Brain

Mel Collier-Meek served as a panelist at the National Center for Improving Literacy’s webinar on Sustaining Multi-Tiered Systems of Support for Reading. 

Jane K. Dickinson began her service as the 2024 President of the Association of Diabetes Care & Education Specialists on January 1st; she served as a director on the ADCES board from 2020 to 2022. 

Sonya Douglass was appointed to the Expert Advisory Council at the Leadership Academy. In this role, Douglass will offer guidance on the organization’s work centered on educational equity and leadership. 

Emdin (right) and Kuzaliwa Campbell (center), principal of Morris Intermediate School, with students during the unveiling of the new Collider Classroom. (Photo: IS61 Entertainment Technology Club)

Chris Emdin, the New York City Department of Education and the Lincoln Center facilitated another milestone in their Collider Classroom project — this time in a Staten Island middle school. 

Mark Anthony Gooden joined colleagues in dialogue about equity in schools with the National Association of Elementary Principals.

Bettina Love was named the winner of the Excellence in Education Award from the nonprofit Better Brothers Los Angeles, which will honor her formally during a ceremony in March. 

Lisa Miller joined U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Vivek Murthy for a dialogue on spirituality’s ties to mental health. 

Gita Steiner-Khamsi was named the William Heard Kilpatrick Professor of Comparative Education. Her appointment will begin on September 1, 2024. During her 2024 spring sabbatical, she is also serving as a visiting professor at Stanford University and Japan’s Kobe University.