Numerous faculty were honored at the American Educational Research Association’s annual meeting in April. 

Mel Collier-Meek was awarded Article of the Year for Journal of Educational & Psychological Consultation for “Reflections on consultation: Applying a DisCrit and equitable implementation lens to help school psychologists disrupt disparities.”

Chris Emdin received the 2024 Society of Professors of Education Outstanding Book Award for Ratchetdemic: Reimagining Academic Success. He was also named as one of District Administration’s 100 Education Influencers. 

Ansley T. Erickson has been awarded the Russell Sage Foundation Visiting Scholar Fellowship, which will support her development of a “new narrative history of education in New York City over the last 100 years or so, through the lens of one school in Harlem.”

Erika S. Levy has received the Distinguished Alumna Award from the CUNY Graduate Center's Program in Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences.

Bettina L. Love received an honorary doctorate from New Jersey City University and addressed the Class of 2024 during their commencement. 

Gemma Moya-Galé received a fellowship from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 

Sonali Rajan was appointed to a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine committee to conduct a consensus study on the impact of active shooter drills and other school security measures on student mental, emotional, and behavioral health and wellbeing.

Amra Sabic-El-Rayess published her latest book, Three Summers — a Gold Standard Selection (Junior Library Guild) and a #1 Bestseller for children (Barnes and Noble). She presented at Stanford University, Brown University, the University of Antwerp, The Oslo Center, International House, Immersive Learning Research Network, and numerous K-12 schools internationally.

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz was awarded the Dorothy Height Distinguished Alumni Award from New York University’s Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development at their May Convocation ceremony, where she also delivered remarks

Youmi Suk received the Tom Ten Have Award for early career researchers at the 2024 American Causal Inference Conference for her work evaluating extended time accommodations. She also delivered a talk on evidence factors for evaluating ETAs at the plenary session of the conference.