Claire Fagin | Mini Moments With Big Thinkers

Skip to content Skip to main navigation
Teachers College, Columbia University
Printer-friendly Version
Teachers College, Columbia University Logo
Mini Moments With Big Thinkers

Mini Moments With Big Thinkers

Claire Fagin

CLAIRE FAGIN (M.A. '51) is Dean Emerita and Leadership Professor Emerita of the University of Pennsylvania's School of Nursing, where she developed landmark education and research programs, a privately funded research center, and a nursing PhD program. As Interim President of Penn itself, she was the first woman to serve in that capacity at any Ivy League institution. Fagin, who has held the presidencies of both the National League of Nursing and the American Orthopsychiatric Association, is recognized as an authority on nurse education, nursing and health policy, geriatric nursing, and program leadership and administration. She has served as Director of the John A. Hartford Foundation Program: Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity and currently is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York.

Fagin is the author of the 2001 report "When Care Becomes a Burden: Diminishing Access to Adequate Nursing." She has received the prestigious Honorary Recognition Award of the American Nurses Association, and she has been inducted into the American Nurses Association Hall of Fame. In 2006, the nursing education building at the University of Pennsylvania was renamed as Claire M. Fagin Hall, and in 2012 Fagin received the Guggenheim Honor Cup of the Penn Club of New York. The National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excelence have created The Claire M. Fagin Fellow Award Program. 

Learn more about TC's programs in Nursing Education and Diabetes Education and Management, both within the College'sDepartment of Health and Behavioral Studies, and its Executive Program for Nurses, located within the Department of Organization and Leadership.

To learn more about  about Claire Fagin, read:

Premiered on 9/16/2013


In "Mini Moments with Big Thinkers," leading figures in Teachers College's history discuss groundbreaking ideas, research and initiatives born at the College during the past half-century. The Mini Moments are drawn from the College’s Oral History Project, a collection of more than 90 videotaped interviews conducted by Melanie Shorin and Jessica Wiederhorn, the principals of The Narrative Trust, a private firm that conducts and captures the oral histories of institutions, communities and individuals. Produced in conjunction with TC’s Department of Development and External Affairs, the Mini-Moments are airing throughout 2013.

More Big Thinkers

Nahas Angula

Ed.M., 1979; M.A., 1978

Leonard Blackman

Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Education

George Bonanno

Professor of Psychology and Education and Professor of Clinical Psychology

Warner Burke

Professor of Psychology & Education

George Bond

Professor of Anthropology and Education

Margaret Crocco

former TC Professor of Social Studies and Education

Morton Deutsch

E.L. Thorndike Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Education

Christopher Emdin

Assistant Professor of Science Education

Alumnus William Epps

Pastor, Second Baptist Church, Los Angeles

Celia Genishi

Professor of Education

Antoinette Gentile

Professor Emeritus, Movement Sciences

A. Lin Goodwin

Vice Dean and Professor of Education

Edmund Gordon

Richard March Hoe Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Education

Maxine Greene

William F. Russell Professor Emeritus in Foundations of Education

R. Douglas Greer

Professor of Psychology and Education

Jeffrey Henig

Professor of Political Science & Education, Department Chair, EPSA

Sharon Lynn Kagan

Marx Professor of Early Childhood and Family Policy

John B. King, Jr.

Ed.D. '08, New York State Commissioner of Education

Henry Levin

Professor of Economics & Education

Eric Nadelstern

Professor of Practice in Educational Leadership

Sandra Okita

Assistant Professor of Technology and Education

Michael Rebell

Professor of Law and Education

William Dodge Rueckert

Co-Chair, Teachers College Board of Trustees

Donna Shalala

President of the University of Miami, former TC faculty member

Gita Steiner-Khamsi

Professor of Education

Derald Wing Sue

Professor of Psychology and Education

Ruth Vinz

Program Coordinator, English Education

Cally L. Waite

Associate Professor of History and Education

Barbara Wallace

Professor of Health Education

Vivian Ota Wang

M. Phil. '94, Ph.D. '95

Howell Wechsler

Ed.D. '95 and 2012-2013 Tisch Lecturer

Dr. Ruth Westheimer

Sex Therapist, Author and Media Personality