Provost's Student Excellence Awards

Provost's Student Excellence Award Recipients

Recognizes students who have made outstanding contributions to the TC community in the spirit of TC alumna Shirley Chisholm's outstanding legacy. Nominees will have worked hard to enrich the TC student experience as advocates, innovators, and change-makers. This award is given to students who exemplify the following quote from Shirley Chisholm: "I have never cared too much for what people say. What I am interested in is what they do." 

Presented to a group who has demonstrated excellence in effectively executing their mission and goals, efficiently engaging and empowering all members, and has successfully created a significant impact on campus life for the TC community. Nominees have gone above and beyond to connect and collaborate with other student groups & organizations, student leaders, and departments at Teachers College & Columbia University. Nominated groups could include student organizations, a coalition, a working group, a book club, etc.

Given to a student-led program that demonstrated originality, innovation, and creativity. Programs that contributed to the development of intercultural competency and promote social responsibility through engagement in social justice, inclusion, and advocacy are encouraged. Nominated programs could have been held for the first time this year or could be an annual occurrence.


2020-2021 Ceremony

The Shirley Chisholm Trailblazer Award:

  • Yianella (Martha) Blanco
  • Nicole K. Bulanuk
  • Mariana Casellato
  • Monica Miaoxia Chan
  • Brooke Hayman
  • Shavonna Q. Hinton
  • Michelle (Chell) Parkins
  • Kayla Parr
  • Yibing (Bing) Quek
  • Honey Walrond

Exemplary Impact Award:

  • African Studies Working Group (ASWG)
  • Decolonization Study Group (DSG)
  • Graduate Writing Center consultants
  • Student-Parent Group

Outstanding Community Program Award:

  • Academic Glow Up Virtual Conference: Advice for College-Bound Latinx Students - hosted by the Coalition of Latinx Scholars
  • #FeelTheMusic Concert & Conference - hosted by the American Sign Language Club

Columbia Alumni Association - Campbell AwardTaylor Moyer
Named for the late Bill Campbell '62CC, ’64TC, the Campbell Award is presented to a graduating student at each School who exemplifies the spirit of Alma Mater through community leadership and service.

TC Student Leadership Grant Recipients: Mariana Casellato, MaKaila Knight-Allder, Jiyoon Lee, Emily Liu, Calley Nelson, Chloe O'Neill, Michelle (Chell) Parkins, Honey Walrond, Zhuqian (Karen) Zhou 


2019-2020 Ceremony

Group Awards:
-Excellence in Collaboration: Rural Student Group
-Outstanding Commitment to Social Responsibility: Coalition of Latinx Scholars
-Most Exemplary Demonstration of Leadership: Global Citizens Club

Program Awards:
-Excellence in Innovation and Creativity: ASL Club & Queer TC - On Display Global
-Biggest Community Impact: Peace Education Network - Student Leaders for a Sustainable TC
-Outstanding New Program: Chinese Calligraphy Club & Student Advocates for the Arts - Where We're From
-Outstanding Annual Program: TESOL/AL Roundtable - Research & Pedagogy Forum

Individual Awards:
-Faculty Advisor of the Year: Dr. Julia Silvestri - ASL Club
-Division of Student Affairs Student Worker of the Year: Dylan Walker - Graduate Writing Center
-International Student Leader of the Year: Marian Francisco - ASL Club
-Unsung Hero: Silvia Alves Nishioka - Student Support and Counseling
-Emerging Leader: Zhuqian Zhou - Data Science and Education Association
-Distinguished Engagement: Jazz Digao - Society for International Education

TC Student Leadership GrantMarion Bakhoya, Shavonna Hinton, Lily Hong, Cindy Ling, Bing Quek, Minhye Son

Columbia Alumni Association - Campbell AwardCharmagne Jones

Back to skip to quick links