To showcase remarkable achievements from TC faculty across disciplines on a regular basis, we're embarking on a new quarterly faculty digest. Faculty, do you have news to share? Submit updates for the TC Newsroom’s faculty digest here.

  • Several faculty — including Judith Scott Clayton, Sarah Cohodes, Sonya Douglass, Jeff Henig, Henry Levin, Bettina Love, Aaron Pallas and Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz — were included on this year’s Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings from Education Week.
  • Peter Coleman launched the Political Courage Challenge with the non-profit Starts With Us to encourage citizens to complete short tasks each day that “help shape new habits and norms for political tolerance and courageous compassion.”
  • Alex Eble was appointed as a research fellow at the Jacobs Foundation, which examines child-development. Eble will serve a three-year term concurrently with his work at Teachers College.
  • Mark Anthony Gooden spoke at the 2022 annual convention for the University Council for Educational Administration in Seattle.
  • Jordan Matsudaira recently published his co-authored study: “Exposure to Childhood Poverty and Racial Differences in Economic Opportunity in Young Adulthood” (2022, Duke University Press)
  • Oren Pizmony-Levy recently published the findings of a school-climate survey examining the experiences of LGBTQ+ students in Ireland, a follow-up to his 2019 work on the same subject.
  • Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz’s book, Advancing Racial Literacies in Teacher Education, recently won 2022’s Edward B. Fry Book Award, issued by the Literacy Research Association — in addition to two honors from the National Council for Teachers of English. The book was co-authored by former TC faculty member Detra Price-Dennis.
  • Michelle Troche recently received $3 million from the National Institute of Health to continue her clinical research to improve the treatment of cough and swallowing dysfunction in people with Parkinson's disease. This work builds on the published findings of her randomized clinical trial funded by the Michael J Fox Foundation.
  • Amy Stuart Wells will co-direct a new study with Janelle T. Scott of the University of California at Berkeley titled “Public Learning for a Multiracial Democracy.” The work will be supported by a grant from the W.T. Grant Foundation.