Campus Safety Advisory Committee

Campus Safety Advisory Committee


The personal safety of students, faculty, staff, and visitors is of primary importance at Teachers College.  The College regularly reviews security and safety procedures, as well as emergency response plans, with the goal of minimizing the risks and consequences of violence in our community. 

New York State law, NYS Education Law; Title 7 State and City Colleges and Universities Article 129-A; Section 6431 requires Teachers College to maintain an Advisory Committee on Campus Security.  This mandates campuses in NYS to appoint and support the operations of a campus advisory committee on security.  In accordance with this mandate, the Teachers College Campus Safety Advisory Committee (CSAC) acts as a forum for reviewing and improving campus security and safety policies and procedures.   The CSAC will provide upon request all campus crime statistics as reported to the United States Department of Education.  


The CSAC is chaired by Dennis Mazone, AVP of Public Safety, and is coordinated by David Gaynor, Associate Director of Public Safety.  They can be contacted by calling the Office of Public Safety at 212-678-3111.  Community members can also refer matters of concern or questions to the committee by sending an email to:


Faculty Members:    Davinia Gregory, Megan Laverty, Daniel Fienup

Staff Members:        Tom Rock, Eileen Hawley Negro, Juan Carlos Reyes

Student Members:   Najat Salim, Bemsi Nkuo, Maeghan Sill, Audrey Crook (Alt.)


Back to skip to quick links