Faculty Honors

Faculty Honors

Randall Allsup
Randall E. Allsup
Associate Professor of Music & Music Education

Gave the keynote presentation at the California Music Educators Association’s Casting a Wider Net conference at Azusa Pacific University. His talk was titled, “‘All That Remains to be Seen and Heard’ or, "Beyond the Great Demographic Mismatch in Music Education.”

George Bonanno
George Bonanno
Professor of Clinical Psychology

Was named as one of three recipients of the James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award, given by the Association for Psychological Science (APS) to recognize APS members for a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the area of applied psychological research. Recipients’ research addresses a critical problem in society at large. Bonanno has overturned long-held assumptions about human resilience to grief and emotional trauma.

Alex Bowers
Alex Bowers
Associate Professor of Educational Leadership

Was named the Journal of Educational Administration (Emerald Publishing) Outstanding Reviewer of the Year.

W. Warner Burke
W. Warner Burke
Edward Lee Thorndike Professor of Psychology & Education

Was named to receive the Sage Cornerstone Author Award to commemorate and celebrate the lasting impact of his work with the 5th edition of Organization Change: Theory and Practice.

Judith Burton
Judith Burton
Macy Professor of Education

An internationally known art educator who has melded a deep sense of artistic tradition with exploration of digital technology and other new tools, became Macy Professor of Education. Burton has served on TC’s faculty since the late 1980s. For many years she directed the College’s Art & Art Education Program and its Macy Gallery.

Madhabi Chatterji
Madhabi Chatterji
Professor of Measurement, Evaluation & Education

Was invited by the Columbia Global Centers–Mumbai, India to provide a lecture-workshop titled “Evidence-based Approaches for Enhancing Educational Quality.” She addressed an international audience of educationists, policy-makers, educational leaders from K–12 organizations, and faculty/leaders of higher education institutions.

Jane Dickinson
Jane K. Dickinson
Director of the Diabetes Education & Management Program

Was named 2019 Diabetes Educator of the Year by the American Association of Diabetes Educators.

Carol Garber
Carol Ewing Garber
Professor of Movement Sciences

Was selected to receive the American College of Sports Medicine Citation Award, which recognizes career achievement for outstanding research contributions to advancing science in sports medicine and exercise science.

Maria Paula Ghiso
María Paula Ghiso
Associate Professor of Literacy Education

Was co-recipient, with Gerald Campano and Bethany J. Welch, of the David H. Russell Award for Distinguished Research in the Teaching of English, given by the National Council of Teachers of English, for their book Partnering with Immigrant Communities: Action through Literacy (Teachers College Press 2016). Ghiso was also co-recipient with Campano and Welch of the Edward B. Fry Book Award, given by the Literacy Research Association (LRA), and recipient of LRA’s Arthur Applebee Award for Excellence in Research on Literacy for her paper “The Laundromat as the Transnational Local: Young Children’s Literacies of Interdependence,” published in Teachers College Record

Thomas Hatch
Thomas Hatch
Professor of Education

Was the keynote speaker at the Third Annual Dongsan Forum in Daegu, South Korea. 

Richard Jochum
Richard Jochum
Associate Professor of Art & Education

Was an Artist-in-Residence at CUNY’s Baruch College for the Fall of 2017.

Pearl Kane
Pearl Rock Kane
Professor of Education, Klingenstein Family Chair Professor and Director

Concluding 37 years as Director of TC’s Klingenstein Center for Independent School Leadership, received the College’s President’s Medal of Excellence at a special gala that also marked the 40th anniversary of the Klingenstein Center’s founding. Led by Kane, who remains on TC’s faculty, the Center has become an internationally-recognized center for the preparation of independent school teachers and leaders that claims nearly 4,000 alumni.

Kimberly Noble, Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Education
Kimberly Noble
Associate Professor of Neuroscience & Education,

Received the John Wiley Distinguished Speaker Award of the International Society for Developmental Psychobiology.

Kelly Parkes
Kelly Parkes
Associate Professor of Music & Music Education

Was named a Lowell Mason Fellow by the National Association for Music Education. The honor recognizes music educators, music education advocates, political leaders, industry professionals and others who have contributed to music education in a unique way.

REVOLUTIONARY MENTOR Sealey-Ruiz was honored for "never turning away those who seek you out for support."
Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz
Associate Professor of English Education

Received the 2018 Revolutionary Mentor Award of AERA’s Critical Educators for Social Justice (CESJ) Special Interest Group (SIG).

Mariana Souto-Manning
Mariana Souto-Manning
Professor of Early Childhood Education

Was appointed Guest Professor (2018–2021) at Háskóli Íslands/University of Iceland; Tepper Research Fellow (2018–2019) at Hunter College, City University of New York; and Honorary Senior Research Fellow (2017–2020) at King’s College London, U.K.

Haeny Yoon
Haeny Yoon
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education

Received the Early Career Award from AERA’s Critical Perspectives in Early Childhood Education SIG.

Exterior architecture details of Teachers College.

Thirteen TC faculty members were included in the latest RHSU Edu-Scholar rankings, which identify “the university-based scholars in the U.S. who are doing the most to shape educational practice and policy.” They are: Thomas Bailey; Jeanne Brooks-Gunn; Sarah Cohodes; Christopher Emdin; Susan Fuhrman; Jeffrey Henig; Sharon Lynn Kagan; Henry Levin; Ernest Morrell; Aaron Pallas; Judith Scott-Clayton; Amy Stuart Wells; and Priscilla Wohlstetter.

Background Image: A collage of Teachers College Endowed Scholarships

Support Our Scholarships

From Mary Swartz Rose and Lawrence Cremin to George Bond and Joan Gussow, the legacy of many of TC's greatest teacher-scholars is carried on through TC's tribute scholarships.

Make Your Gift Now

Support the TC Fund

Every gift to the TC Annual Fund, no matter the amount, makes a difference, and goes directly in support of teaching and learning. Your participation matters!

Give to the TC Fund

Back to skip to quick links